FOLLOW US

FacebookYoutubeLinkedin

CALENDAR OF EVENTS

April 2021
S M T W T F S
28 29 30 31 1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 1

Events Calendar

Today
UpComing this month
Transition to Peace on the Korean Peninsula
Thursday 25 March 2021

Registration

Transition to Peace on the Korean Peninsula: What Confidence Building Measures are Necessary and Who Can Guide the Process?

 

Zoom Webinar: 1 pm (GMT), 2 pm (CET), 9.00 am (EST), 10 pm (KST), Thursday, 25th March, 2021

Mount Kumkang, one of the most famous scenic areas of the Korean peninsula, in recent years has become a symbol of the on - off cooperation between the Democratic People's Republic of Korea and the Republic of Korea.

We would like to consider what confidence building measures could initiate a transition to peace at a time of sanctions and the suspicion that any resources gained by the DPRK will be used to support the DPRK military, nuclear weapons and their delivery systems?

'Who can guide the process' is pertinent given that the shifts of democratic mandate may lead to a President of the United States or a President of South Korea, for example, who may withdraw from any prior agreements made by a previous administration. Who can guide any peace initiative into a longstanding agreement in which all parties can have assurance?

Panel:

 

Moderator: Humphrey Hawksley - Author, commentator and broadcaster. He was a long standing BBC Foreign Correspondent.

Speakers:

  • Mike Chinoy: Non-Resident Senior Fellow, US-China Institute, University of  Southern California and former CNN Senior Asia Correspondent.
  • Jenny Town: Senior Fellow at the Stimson Center and the Director of Stimson’s 38 North Program with expertise in North Korea, US-DPRK relations, US-ROK alliance and Northeast Asia regional security.
  • Keith Bennett: Consultant specialising in Korean and Chinese affairs with a long term, close relationship with the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea
  • Aidan Foster-Carter: is Honorary Senior Research Fellow in Sociology and Modern Korea at Leeds University in England.

Closing Remarks:  Dr Katsumi Otsuka: Universal Peace Federation Europe and the Middle East, Chairman.

We hope that you will be able to join us for this stimulating and informative programme.

 

Yours sincerely,

Robin Marsh

Secretary General

Universal Peace Federation (UPF) – UK

Charity Number 1185412

Mobile: +44 7956210768

@ukUPF

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

www.uk.upf.org

 3 25 EUME UPF Korean Webinar sm