Click here to learn more about the Think Tank 2022 and UPF's effort in the Peaceful Reunification of the Korean Peninsula.

Think Tank 2022


September 2022
28 29 30 31 1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 1

Leadership and Good Governance - Full Bio Test

The UPF Leadership and Good Governance Award is presented on behalf of the Founders, Rev. and Mrs. Sun Myung Moon, to those manifesting excellence in leadership, integrating professional excellence and practical wisdom with moral and spiritual principles.

Candidates from all fields and realms of governance are considered, including leaders from religion, government, non-governmental organizations, corporations, and educational institutions. Past recipients include current and former heads of state and government, parliamentarians, and religious leaders from throughout the world.

The Leadership and Good Governance Award recognizes those who have demonstrated outstanding leadership principles, including fairness, honesty, accountability, transparency and inclusiveness, based on the core values of:

  • living for the sake of others in service to God and humanity.
  • promoting harmony and cooperation beyond barriers of race,
    religion, nationality and culture;
  • strengthening marriage and the family as the school of love;
  • affirming universal spiritual values

Statements of Prior Awardees

UPF peace principles have played a very important role in helping us to end the violence in Kenya. You are bringing hope for a brighter future to our nation, to Africa and the world.
- Rt. Hon. Raila Odinga, Prime Minister of Kenya (2008-13)

We look forward to the day when all people feel value in work and labor, and have basic needs for clothing, food, education and health, met. Agony and resentment can be dissolved as people live according to the UN declaration for human security and the eradication of hunger.
- Dr. Abd Elaziz Hegazy, Prime Minister of Egypt (1974-75)

Above all we must recognize that knowledge and understanding of ourselves, and of our Creator God, will inevitably lead us to a love of others, our brothers and sisters of all nations, all continents, faiths, and religions. Living for the sake of others is at the core of UPF’s teachings.
- Sir Lloyd Erskine Sandiford, Prime Minister of Barbados (1987-94)

As head of the Ukrainian Peace Council, I am ready to take an active part in this activity. We are ready to cooperate for the sake of creating a global network of peacemaking organizations that will help develop worldwide peacemaking processes.
-H.E. Leonid M. Kravchuk, President of Ukraine (1991-94)

Leadership and Good Governance Booklet from the World Summit 2014 (1.1MB)
Leadership and Good Governance Booklet from the World Summit 2013 (22.4MB)

Leadership and Good Governance Program honoring H.E. Mr. Nassir Al-Nasser (1MB)

African Union - Received Award 2/23/2013
H.E. Jean Ping
is a Gabonese diplomat and politician who served as Chair of the African Union Commission from 2008 to 2012. He served as the Minister of State and Minister of Foreign Affairs, Cooperation and Francophonie of the Gabonese Republic from 1999 to 2008, and was President of the United Nations General Assembly from 2004 to 2005.

Antigua and Barbuda - Received Award 9/12/2014
Dr. John William Ashe
served as President of the UN General Assembly at its 68th session, which ran September 2013 to September 2014. He was also President of the UNICEF Executive Board in 2012. He served as Permanent Representative to the United Nations in New York of Antigua and Barbuda between 1995 and 2004.

Burundi - Received Award 9/14/2005
H.E. Pierre Nkurunziza
served as the ninth president of Burundi for almost 15 years from August 2005 until his death in June 2020. He graduated from the University of Burundi in 1990 with a degree in physical education and taught at high school and also served as an assistant lecturer at the university.


Cote d`Ivoire - Received Award 4/4/2012
H.E. Henri Konan Bédié
served as President of Côte d'Ivoire from 1993 to 1999. He was the country’s first ambassador to the United States and Canada following independence in 1960. He is currently the President of the Democratic Party of Côte d'Ivoire.


Congo Brazzaville - Received Award 8/12/2004
H.E. Justin Koumba
was President of the National Assembly of Congo-Brazzaville from 2007-2017. He was an official at the United Nations and served the government of Congo-Brazzaville as Minister of National Education in 1992; President of the National Transitional Council from 1998-2002, and President of the National Human Rights Commission from 2003-2007.

Guinea-Bissau - Received Award 2/23/2013
H.E. Manuel Serifo Nhamadjo
served as Interim President from May 2012 to June 2014 and as President of the National People’s Assembly of Guinea-Bissau, a country in West Africa that gained independence from Portugal in 1973.


Kenya - Received Award 8/12/2014
H.E. Raila Amolo Odinga
served as the Prime Minister of Kenya from 2008 to 2013. He was a Member of Parliament from 1992 to 2007, Minister for Energy from 2001 to 2002, and Minister for Roads, Public Works and Housing from 2003 to 2005. He was appointed High Representative for Infrastructure Development at the African Union Commission in 2018.

Lesotho - Received Award 8/12/2014
His Majesty King Letsie III
is the first son of the late King Moshoeshoe II and Queen ’M‘amohato Seeiso. He was installed as King of Lesotho in 1996. The coronation took place the following year. In 2018, His Majesty was appointed by the World Bank to be a Champion for the Human Capital Project of the Bank

Liberia - Received Award 7/27/2004
H.E. Wesley M. Johnson
served as Vice Chairman of the National Transitional Government of Liberia from 2003 to 2006. He was previously the Liberian Ambassador to the United Kingdom and Egypt. He was also the Liberian Ambassador to the Holy See. Before entering politics, he was an athlete and represented Liberia at the 1964 Summer Olympics in Tokyo.

Malawi - Received Award 10/3/2003
H.E. Dr. Isaac Chikwekwere Lamba
served as Secretary of State for the Ministry of Education and Culture for Malawi from 1988 to 1991. He served as the Malawi Ambassador to France, Germany, and Russia as well as the Ambassador and Permanent Representative to the UN in New York. He was also a lecturer at the University of Malawi.