Click here to learn more about the Think Tank 2022 and UPF's effort in the Peaceful Reunification of the Korean Peninsula.

Think Tank 2022


October 2022
25 26 27 28 29 30 1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31 1 2 3 4 5

Leadership and Good Governance - Africa Region

H.E. Jean Ping is a Gabonese diplomat and politician who served as Chair of the African Union Commission from 2008 to 2012. He served as the Minister of State and Minister of Foreign Affairs, Cooperation and Francophonie of the Gabonese Republic from 1999 to 2008, and was President of the United Nations General Assembly from 2004 to 2005.


Dr. John William Ashe served as President of the UN General Assembly at its 68th session, which ran September 2013 to September 2014. He was also President of the UNICEF Executive Board in 2012. He served as Permanent Representative to the United Nations in New York of Antigua and Barbuda between 1995 and 2004.


H.E. Pierre Nkurunziza served as the ninth president of Burundi for almost 15 years from August 2005 until his death in June 2020. He graduated from the University of Burundi in 1990 with a degree in physical education and taught at high school and also served as an assistant lecturer at the university.


H.E. Henri Konan Bédié served as President of Côte d'Ivoire from 1993 to 1999. He was the country’s first ambassador to the United States and Canada following independence in 1960. He is currently the President of the Democratic Party of Côte d'Ivoire.


H.E. Justin Koumba was President of the National Assembly of Congo-Brazzaville from 2007 to 2017. He was an official at the United Nations and served in the government of Congo-Brazzaville as Minister of National Education in 1992; President of the National Transitional Council from 1998 to 2002, and President of the National Human Rights Commission from 2003 to 2007.


H.E. Manuel Serifo Nhamadjo served as Interim President from May 2012 to June 2014 and as President of the National People’s Assembly of Guinea-Bissau, a country in West Africa that gained independence from Portugal in 1973.



H.E. Raila Amolo Odinga served as the Prime Minister of Kenya from 2008 to 2013. He was a Member of Parliament from 1992 to 2007, Minister for Energy from 2001 to 2002, and Minister for Roads, Public Works and Housing from 2003 to 2005. He was appointed High Representative for Infrastructure Development at the African Union Commission in 2018.


His Majesty King Letsie III is the first son of the late King Moshoeshoe II and Queen ’M‘amohato Seeiso. He was installed as King of Lesotho in 1996. The coronation took place the following year. In 2018, His Majesty was appointed by the World Bank to be a Champion for the Human Capital Project of the Bank


H.E. Wesley M. Johnson served as Vice Chairman of the National Transitional Government of Liberia from 2003 to 2006. He was previously the Liberian Ambassador to the United Kingdom and Egypt. He was also the Liberian Ambassador to the Holy See. Before entering politics, he was an athlete and represented Liberia at the 1964 Summer Olympics in Tokyo. 


H.E. Dr. Isaac Chikwekwere Lamba served as Secretary of State for the Ministry of Education and Culture for Malawi from 1988 to 1991. He served as the Malawi Ambassador to France, Germany, and Russia as well as the Ambassador and Permanent Representative to the UN in New York. He was also a lecturer at the University of Malawi.