Celebration of UN Global Day of Parents in Peru

UPF-Peru, IAPP and Congressman Dr. José Alberto Arriola Tueros jointly celebrated the UN World Parents Day.


UPF-Paraguay Inaugurates the International Association of Academics for Peace

More than 150 people met in Asunción to inaugurate the International Association of Academics for Peace (IAAP).


UPF-Italy Holds Peace Event at Turin Book Fair

UPF-Italy held an event at the Turin International Book Fair titled "Paths for a Culture of Peace."


UPF-Austria Observes International Day of Families

UPF and two affiliated organizations jointly commemorated International Day of Families.


UPF-Albania Observes International Day of Families

Thousands of Albanians attended a festival in two cities called "The Family as the School of Love.”


UPF-Switzerland Holds Peace Cup Children’s Tournament

UPF and the local football club held the ninth Peace Cup children's football tournament.




Click here to learn more about the Think Tank 2022 and UPF's effort in the Peaceful Reunification of the Korean Peninsula.

Think Tank 2022


August 2022
31 1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31 1 2 3
Our areas of work


International Association of Parliamentarians for Peace

World Summit 2020 - IAPP Schedule

The International Association of Parliamentarians for Peace has been launched as a worldwide association of parliamentarians which provides a forum to bring their experience and wisdom to bear in the search for solutions to our world’s problems. Parliamentarians from around the world have offered their remarks on the importance of their work and the value of increased cooperation and collaboration in the search for innovative solutions to some of the critical issues that we face on the local, national, regional and global levels, from climate change to the rise of extremist ideologies to humanitarian disasters and conflict.


February 3-5, 2020



Moderator: Hon. Ek Nath Dhakal, Minister (2012-2013), Government of Nepal; regional chair, UPF-Asia-Pacific, Nepal

Opening Remarks
Hon. Dan Burton, U.S. congressman (1983-2013), USA
Hon. Yoon Sang-hyun, Member, National Assembly, Korea
Hon. Yoshinori Ohno, Minister of Defense (2004-2005); President of IAPP-Japan
Hon. Elena Drapeko, Member, Russian Duma, Russia
Rt. Hon. Martin Ngoga, Speaker, East African Legislative Assembly (EALA), Tanzania

Hon. Caleb J. Desrasmeaux, Vice President, House of Representatives, National Assembly, Haiti
Hon. Issaka Sidibe, President, National Assembly Mali
Hon. Loretta Sanchez, U.S. congresswoman (1997-2017), USA
Hon. Hilik Bar, Member of Parliament, Israel



Moderator: Hon. John T. Doolittle, U.S. congressman (1991-2009), USA

Hon. Khoun Sudary, Deputy Speaker, Cambodia
Hon. Kimmo Kalevi Sasi, Minister of Foreign Trade (1999- 2002) and Minister of Transport and Communications (2002-2003), Finland
Hon. Veronica Rosca, Member of Parliament, Moldova
Hon. Allal Amraoui, Member of Parliament, Morocco
Hon. Iro Sani, Vice President, National Assembly, Niger
Hon. Faustina Marugg, Minister of State, Palau
Hon. Otim David Okot, Chairperson, Standing Committee for Federal Affairs, South Sudan
Hon. Dr. Krasae Chanawongse, former Minister of Foreign Affairs, Minister to the Office of the Prime Minister, Thailand
Hon. John Mica, U.S. congressman (1993-2017), USA
Hon. Dana Rohrabacher, U.S. congressman (1989-2019), USA



Moderator:  Hon. David Clarke, Member of Parliament, (2003-2019), Australia

Hon. Margarett Best, Cabinet Minister, Government of Ontario, MP, (2007-2013), Canada
Hon. Vasily Vlasov, Member of Parliament, Russia
Hon. Yves Nidegger, Member of Parliament, Switzerland
Hon. Ljudmila Novak, Member of the European Parliament (2004-2009); Parliamentarian (2009-2015), Slovenia
Hon. Margaret Rwabushaija, Parliamentarian, Uganda
Hon. Luis Roberto da Silva, Vice President, National Parliament, Timor-Leste
Hon. Sam P. Teo, Speaker of the Parliament, Tuvalu 
Hon. Edouard Roger Okoula, Senator, Senate of the Republic of the Congo
Hon. Matt Salmon, U.S. Congressman (2013-2017), USA
Hon. Otim David Okot, Assemblyman, National Assembly, South Sudan
Hon. Ana Rita G. Sithole, Assemblywoman and Member of the Committee Central, National Assembly, Mozambique
Hon. Gline Clarke, Deputy Speaker of the House of Assembly, Parliament of Barbados
Mr. Hassan Mohamed, Military Attache to Cairo, Ministry of Defense of Somalia
Hon. Barbara Cubin
U.S. congresswoman (1995-2009), USA (Submitted speech)

To read the report on the IAPP Assembly, click here.

To go back to the World Summit 2020 Schedule Page, click here.

Chapter Reports View All Chapters

UPF-Italy Inaugurates Think Tank

Bergamo, Italy—UPF-Italy launched a Think Tank with a talk on “Communication of Conflict and Conflict in Communication.”

“Viewing the DPRK from Within” Part 3

Canada—The third program in a series entitled “Viewing the DPRK from Within,” was broadcast from Montreal, Canada.

UPF-Russia Webinar Discusses Arctic Transport Routes

Moscow, Russia—A UPF webinar discussed the potential of Arctic transport routes to connect East Asia with Europe.