December 2018
25 26 27 28 29 30 1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31 1 2 3 4 5

Pacific Nations Develop 2016 Plan of Action

Group photo of the conference participants
The round table format to encourage discussion, feedback and follow-up action after the conference
Mr Wasu Deo, Fiji School Principal, commenting during the Values Education session. Rev Jong Deug Yoo (left) and Mr Timoci Bure, head of secondary education in Fiji (middle)
Rev Suamalie Iosefa Naisali giving a presentation in session IV on the impacts of climate change in Kiribati and Tuvalu
New Ambassadors for Peace were appointed at the conference: Ms Stephanie Mailesi, Mr Timoci Bure, Ms Louisa Apelu (Ms Negin Mansoury also received an AP appointment).
From left front: Anne Bellavance, Dr Mimmie Ngum Chi Watts, Greg Stone, Rev Jong Deug Yoo, Mrs Yoo, Ms Selina Boso, Rev Daeyeon Goo, John Bellavance, from left middle row: Dr Sahu Kahn, Ms Louisa Apelu, Seti Suafa, Rev Santosh Neupane, Ms Stephanie Mailesi, from Left back row: Mr Luke Sisi Cheka, Mr Wasu Deo, Pastor Va'inga Tonga, Dr Chit Swe, Peter Chaniel Tome, Rev Suamalie Iosefa Naisali, Mr Surendra Prasad, Mr Julius Gicole.
From left front row: Anne Bellavance, Dr Mimmie Ngum Chi Watts, Greg Stone, Ms Negin Mansoury, Rev Jong Deug Yoo, Venerable Thich Minh Tam, Rev Soon Teck Lim, Dr Wali Islam, from left back row: Pastor Va'inga Tonga, Ms Mary Mahloko-Boardmans, Mr Bill Pontikis, Dr Imran Syed, Dr Herman Roborgh, Dr Jacinta Moreau, Mr Surendra Prasad, Dr Chit Swe, Dr Apollo Nsubuga-Kyobe, Mr John Bellavance.
From left front: Ms Mary Mahloko-Boardman, Mr Adeniyi Ekine, Rev Suamalie Iosefa Naisali, Mr Santosh Neupane, Ms Irene Anania, Dame Jane Seccombe, Dr Jacinta Moreau, Dr Mimmie Ngum Chi Watts, from left back row: Mr Seti Suafa, Rev Jong Deug Yoo, Mr Wasu Deo, Mr Greg Stone, Dr Apollo Nsubuga-Kyobe , Ms Sharon Orapeleng, Ms Louisa Apelu, Mr Timoci Bure, Stephanie Mailesi
From left front: Ms Aila Willitts, Mr Folasa-tuioti, Rev Suamalie Iosefa Naisali, Mrs Sara Folasa-tuioti, Ms Mamiko Rattley, Dame Jane Seccombe, Ms Sharon Orapeleng, Mr Peter Chaniel Tome, from left back row: Mr Seti Suafa, Dr Wali Islam, Mr Adeniyi Ekine, Rev Jong Deug Yoo, Mr Greg Stone, Ms Selina Boso, Mr Luke Sisi Cheka

Sydney, Australia—“Peace, Security and Human Development in Oceania” was the theme of the 2015 UPF-Oceania regional conference.

A total of 53 delegates came from the Pacific Ocean nations of Vanuatu, Solomon Islands, Fiji, Samoa, and New Zealand, as well as from Melbourne, Queensland and Sydney in Australia.

The UPF conference, which was held at the Oceania Peace Embassy in Sydney on December 1 and 2, 2015, was jointly organized and supported by Women’s Federation for World Peace (WFWP), an affiliated organization.

The four sessions of the conference were:

  1. “Peacebuilding in the Global Village—Multi-faith, Multi-disciplinary Peace Councils in Oceania,” chaired by UPF-Australia Vice President John Bellavance. This session was concerned with the formation of Peace Councils at the state, national and regional levels.

  2. “Values Education—Human Development in Fiji,” chaired jointly by values education authority Ms. Irene Anania and Santosh Neupane, the president of the Fiji chapters of UPF and Family Federation for World Peace and Unification (FFWPU), an affiliated organization. This session discussed values education with a particular focus on the Fiji government’s invitation for UPF to introduce values education to Fiji secondary-school teachers.

  3. “New Village Movement—Human Development in Oceania,” chaired by Rev. Jong Deug Yoo, regional chair of UPF-Oceania, who gave a presentation about the New Village Movement and its programs in Vanuatu.

  4. “Security and Human Development in Kiribati and Tuvalu—How Can We Help?” This session, which dealt with the impact of climate change on low-lying atoll nations such as Kiribati and Tuvalu, was chaired by Rev. Suamalie Iosefa Naisali, a Tuvalu Christian minister and president of the Pacific Island Climate Change Action Forum in New Zealand.

After Oceania Regional Chair Rev. Jong Deug Yoo warmly welcomed the delegates, Regional Secretary General Greg Stone gave an introduction to UPF and an overview of the conference themes.

A conference backgrounder was prepared for each session, with a list of proposed committee members who would be the main discussants in the session. Others would be observers but could contribute comments and ask questions at the end of the session.

Each session began with a presentation and was arranged to allow for a roundtable discussion so that participants could ask questions and put forward their own comments. Through this interactive format, it was hoped that participants would feel more ownership and would be able to work together to form follow-up action committees in each area.

The sessions did indeed stimulate a lot of interaction and discussion. At the end of each session there was a call for volunteers who would like to participate in the follow-up committee about the session topic. These groups were photographed and/or the names were recorded.

At the end of the two days, participants wrote very positive reflections, indicating that they were inspired by the conference topics and wished to support the ongoing projects stemming from the conference content.

The following delegates were awarded certificates of Ambassador for Peace during the conference: Ms. Negin Mansoury, Mr. Timoci Bure, Ms. Louisa Apelu and Ms. Stephanie Mailesi.

Conference Attendees

  1. Rev. Jong Deug Yoo
  2. Mrs. Yoo
  3. Mr. Greg Stone
  4. Mrs. Reiko Stone
  5. Rev. Soon Teck Lim
  6. Mrs. Rika Lim
  7. Ms. Aila Willitts
  8. Ms. Jynene Helland
  9. Mr. Logessan Pillay
  10. Ms. Ruth Osen
  11. Dr. Wali Islam
  12. Venerable Thich Minh Tam
  13. Dr. Mimmie Ngum Chi Watts
  14. Dr. Herman Roborgh
  15. Ms. Negin Mansoury
  16. Mr. Bill Pontikis
  17. Dr. Apollo Nsubuga-Kyobe
  18. Dr. Imran Syed
  19. Ms. Mary Mahloko-Boardmans
  20. Mr. Jean Bellavance
  21. Ms. Anne Bellavance
  22. Dr. Jacinta Moreau
  23. Ms. Irene Anania
  24. Ms. Ye Young Babb
  25. Mr. Adeniyi Ekine
  26. Mr. Surendra Prasad OAM
  27. Ms. Sharon Orapeleng
  28. Mr. Robert Josifoski
  29. Mrs. Mamiko Rattley
  30. Mrs. Sara Folasa-Tuioti
  31. Mr. Folasa-Tuioti
  32. Dr. Brian Adams
  33. Dame Jane Seccombe
  34. Rev. Suamalie Iosefa Naisali
  35. Mr. Julius Gicole
  36. Dr. Sahu Khan
  37. Mr. Santosh Neupane
  38. Mrs. Ronzelle Lozano
  39. Mr. Timoci Bure
  40. Mr. Wasu Deo
  41. Mrs. Romila Deo
  42. Mr. Seti Suafa
  43. Ms. Louisa Apelu
  44. Rev. Dae Yeon Goo     
  45. Mr. Peter C. Tome
  46. Mr. Luke Sisi Cheka
  47. Ms. Selina Boso
  48. Ms. Stephanie Mailesi
  49. Dr. Chit Swe
  50. Mrs. Chit Swe
  51. Pastor Va'inga Tonga
  52. Mr. Jon Soemarjono
  53. Mr. Mark Burfield


If you find this page helpful and informative please consider making donation. Your donation will help Universal Peace Federation (UPF) provide new and improved reports, analysis and publications to you and everyone around the world.

UPF is a 501(c)(3) tax exempt organization and all donations are tax deductible in the United States. Receipts are automatically provided for donations of or above $250.00.

Donate to the Universal Peace Federation: Your donation to support the general programs of UPF.

Donate to the Religious Youth Service (RYS): Your donation will be used for service projects around the world.

Donate to UPF's Africa Projects: Your donation will be used for projects in Africa.